Complete List of Resources (A-Z)
Agricola – (Free Resource) Indexes articles in agricultural magazines and journals from 1980 to the present. Covers veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, food and human nutrition, and environmental studies. Thousands of Agricola records are linked to online full text documents. Updated monthly.
BC Archives – Genealogy – (Free Resource) Full digital images of the original records of births (1854-1903), marriages (1872-1937), deaths (1872-1992), coloanial marriages (1859-1872) and baptisms (1836-1888). Additional records will be added as they become publicly available. Note that images are not available for all events.
BC Books Online – (Free Resource) A searchable database of books published in British Columbia.
BC City Directories – (Free Resource) Vancouver Public Library’s collection of digitized British Columbia city directories dates from 1860 up to and including 1947. The directories contain detailed historical information about British Columbian communities, as well as population figures; government listings; operating newspapers; schools and libraries from communities across the province (including Creston).
BC Codes – (Free Resource) Includes the current BC Building Code, including Plumbing Services and the BC Fire Code.
- BC Building Codes and Standards – Contains the forms and regulations
- BC Building Code 2018
- BC Fire Code 2018
- Energy Step Code – Compliance Tools for Part 9 Building – Contains the BC Energy Compliance Report
BC Laws – (Free Resource) Public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
BC Practice Driving Test – (Free Resource) Developed by Richmond Public Library, includes practice tests for Class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, Air Brake Endorsement and House Trailer Endorsement. The questions are based on ICBC’s Learn to Drive Smart book and other manuals.
BC Statistics – (Free Resource) Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
BC Historical Newspapers – (Free Resource) Search and view B.C. community newspapers published from 1865 to 1924. The British Columbia Historical Newspapers Collection makes 24 of B.C.’s earliest newspapers freely available in digital format. Includes some Kootenay content.
Biblioboard – (Paid for by Creston Public Library) A collection of virtual curation to help you discover new books.
CanLII – (Free Resource) A virtual library of Canadian law. Contains statutes, regulations, and selected case law for Canada’s federal government as well as for every province and territory in Canada.
ClickLaw –(Free Resource) Internet guide to legal resources in BC
Creston Review – (Free Resource) Search and read Creston Review newspaper published from 1909-1935. This collection is freely available in digital format, and provides downloadable files and metadata for research purposes.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online – (Free Resource) Biographies of major and minor figures in Canadian history, covering the years 1000-1930
Explora Educators Edition (Paid for by Creston Public Library)
Explora Primary Schools – (Paid for by Creston Public Library) Designed specifically for elementary school students, Explora Primary Schools provides access to popular full-text magazines for elementary school research.
Explora Secondary Schools (Paid for by Creston Public Library)
ICBC Knowledge Test Practice – (Free Resource) This online ICBC Knowledge Test is intended to help you prepare for the ICBC Practice Test and Class 7L Learner’s Written Knowledge Test that is required before you can get your driver’s license.
Fantastic Fiction – (Free Resource) Over 30,000 author bibliographies and information on 350,000 titles, categorized by genre, format, popularity, etc. Each title links to similar books by other authors.
GoodReads – (Free Resource) Includes reader reviews, trivia, reading lists, etc. You can choose to sign up and share book lists.
International Children’s Digital Library – (Free Resource) The International Children’s Digital Library (ICDL) is a collection of over 4000 historical and contemporary children’s books in more than 50 languages (including bilingual books) from around the world.
Internet Archive – (Free Resource) The Internet Archive (IA) is a non-profit digital library offering permanent access to collections of digitized materials, including books (more than 300,000 texts from Canadian libraries), websites, audio, and moving images.
Kanopy – (paid for by Creston Public Library) Watch the award-winning movies and documentaries, as well as free lectures from the Great Courses. All you need is your library card to access them for free.
Khan Academy – (Free Resource) “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online (In-Library use only) – (Free Resource) – In Library Use Only.
Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Libby – (Paid for by Creston Public Library) Read your favorite ebooks, magazines, and listen to audiobooks with Libby. Accessible with your library card.
Library To Go – (Paid for by Creston Public Library) Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
Legal Aid BC – (Free Resource) A Legal Information Network Kiosk.
Medline Plus – (Free Resource) Consumer friendly health information from the National Library of Medicine. Includes directories, a medical encyclopedia, medical dictionary, tutorials on common conditions, tests, and treatments, information on prescription and nonprescrition drugs, and links to clinical trials.
NewToBC – (Free Resource) The NewToBC website is a well-used and well-regarded trove of essential information and resources that are meant to support immigrants and refugees as they settle in BC communities.
Points To The Past – (Free Resource) Almost 200 million searchable pages of digital historical content, including digitized versions of periodicals such as The Economist, The Financial Times and Associated Press content, as well as digitized materials from The Smithsonian Institution, the world’s largest museum and research complex. Free for all BC residents.
Practice Driving Test – (Free Resource) The practice test for ICBC’s driving test. Provided by Richmond Public Library.
Project Gutenberg – (Free Resource) Project Gutenberg is a collection of more than 40,000 free eBooks in English and other languages. Most of the items in this collection are the full texts of public domain books.
Royal BC Museum Learning Portal – (Free Resource) The Learning Portal is the place for learners of all ages to explore British Columbia’s natural and human history through the Royal BC Museum collections.
Teen Health & Wellness database – (Free Resource) Real life – real answers.
TumbleBooks – (Paid for by Creston Public Library) – The collections of animated, talking picture books.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online – (Free Resource) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation. In Library Use Only